Crude oil theft: NSCDC arrests 21 suspects in Bayelsa

The Bayelsa State Command of the Nigeria Security and Civil Defense Corps (NSCDC) has arrested no fewer than 21 suspects in the state in the last three months for their alleged involvement in illegal bunkering, oil theft and pipeline vandalism.

  Mrs. Christiana Abiakam-Omanu, the commandant of the Bayelsa Command of the NSCDC, disclosed this when members of the Executive Committee of the Federated Correspondents’ Chapel of the Nigerian Union of Journalists (NUJ) Bayelsa chapter led by the Chairman, Kola Oredipe, visited her in her office.

  Abiakam-Omanu said that several cases involving the suspects were pending at the Federal High Court, Yenagoa due to some months of inactivity on legal proceedings.

 She however disclosed that the command was expecting to secure convictions based on diligent investigation and power of evidence at its disposal.

  Abiakam-Omanu said that despite challenges, the command recorded some successes, assuring that she was poised to consolidate on the achievements of her predecessors.

  She commended the media practitioners in the state, particularly members of the Federated Correspondents’ Chapel, for the partnership and positive collaboration as a critical stakeholder in the fight against economic saboteurs in the state.

  She also advocated stronger collaboration from the media organizations to fight oil theft and illegal oil bunkering.

   Besides, the Chairman of the Federated Correspondents’ Chapel, Comrade Kola Oredipe, had commended the NSCDC command for the successes recorded since Abiakam-Omanu assumed office.

  Oredipe also informed the NSCDC command of the annual lecture series initiated by the Federated Correspondents’ Chapel to contribute to the Bayelsa polity as a stakeholder, stressing that this year’s lecture is titled, "The Quest for a People's Governor: :A case for Bayelsa State" slated for December 20, 2018, and to be attended by dignitaries including the former President GoodLuck Jonathan, the Bayelsa Governor, Seriake Dickson among others.

News Category: