Primaries: Imo APC members sue Oshiomhole

Aggrieved members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Imo state have commenced legal action against the party and its National Chairman, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole over the contentious governorship primary election of the party in the state.

Following the 1st October, 2018 governorship primary election of the party in Imo state which was cancelled by Oshiomhole for perceived inconsistencies, after the returning officer, Ahmed Gulak had declared Senator Hope Uzodinma winner, aggrieved members of Imo APC, Macdonald Ogu, Egejuru Tochukwu and Ejike Anosike had on 4th October, 2018 initiated a suit with Suit No. HOW/746/18 against the party and Oshiomhole.

Also sue were the Chairman of the Primary Election Committee, Alhaji Ahmed Gulak and other members of the committee.

In the suit, governorship aspirants, Prince Eze Madumere, Senator Hope Uzodinma, Sir Jude Ejiogu, Air Commodore Peter Gbujie (Rtd), Sir George Eche, Hon. Uche Nwosu, Chris Nlemoha, Dr. Hilary Eke, Hon. Dan Nwafor and Chima Anozie were respondents.

The aggrieved party members, however, sought the following reliefs among others; “A declaration that the result of the governorship primaries of the All Progressives Congress (APC) Imo State chapter dated 2nd October 2018, which declared Senator Hope Uzodinma as the authentic and rightful winner of the Imo state governorship primary election 2018 is authentic and same duly signed by the APC Imo governorship primaries ad hoc Committee Chairman (3rd defendant) whose committee conducted the primaries;

“A declaration by the court that the purported television announcement and dissolution of the Ahmed Gulak led committee which conducted the Imo State APC governorship primaries 2018 by the 2nd defendant (Comrade Adams Oshiomole) in his capacity as the party’s National Chairman on behalf of the National Executive Committee is illegal, undemocratic and same violates the constitution of the All Progressives Congress (APC).”

The plaintiffs asked for “a definite order of court, directing the Comrade Adams Oshiomole led National Executive Committee and all other relevant authorities of the APC to accept and recognize the Ahmed Gulak result dated 2nd October, 2018 and same declared as correct result of the Imo State APC governorship primaries for Imo State 2018.”

Also, “an order of perpetual injunction restraining the 1st and 2nd defendants (APC and its National Chairman) from re-constituting another committee and or taking any step or further step including the dissolution of the Ahmed Gulak committee, which will jeopardize the already concluded governorship primary of the APC in Imo State as won by Senator Hope Uzodinma.”

News Category: