APC presidential primary: Buhari wins big with 210, 201 votes in Bayelsa

Members of the Bayelsa State chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC) Friday voted massively with over 200,000 votes for President Muhammadu Buhari as the candidate of the party in 2019 Presidential elections.
The exercise took place in the 105 wards of the state. It was based on the Option A4 model adopted in the June 12, 1993 Presidential Election. It is a method whereby eligible voters cue behind the contestant of their choice.
Addressing members of the party before proceeding for the exercise, Minister of State for Agriculture and Rural Development, Senator Heineken Lokpobiri, who served as Bayelsa State Returning Officer for the presidential primary, called for peace while expressing the party’s readiness to take over the mantle of leadership in the state.
Former Governor of Bayelsa State and leader of APC in the state, Chief Timipre Sylva, voted at Brass Island as thousands of townsmen queued behind.
Addressing party members just before voting began, Sylva heaped praises on Buhari while explaining why the president deserved continuity.
“My vote will go for President Buhari because he has shown a genuine zeal to make things right, to mend our country and to forge ahead with socio-economic prosperity. Even as a state, we have not had it so good for a long time, there are positive signs of federal presence in the state and I'm sure more will follow,” he said.

News Category: