Why Niger Assembly removed majority, deputy majority leaders

By Ummi Ismaeel,

Niger State House of Assembly (NSHA) yesterday removed the leader of the House, Musa S. Nasko, and his Deputy, Andrew D. Jagaba, “for want of leadership competences’’.

Member representing Lavun constituency, Jibrin Ndagi Baba, raised the motion for the change of the House leaders during Thursday

Moving the motion for their removal, Ndagi Baba said that after consulting with his colleagues on some pressing issues affecting the House and its legislative duties realized that members no longer have
confidence in the House leader and his deputy.

“I therefore moved that the two officers should be removed,” he said. Other members supported the motion and they nominated other lawmakers to occupy the positions.

The Speaker of Niger State House of Assembly, Abdullahi Bawa Wuse, however, said that he was not notified on the decision of the House to
remove the House leader and his deputy and read the order of
constitution to the house.

Notwithstanding, the speakers’ position citing the position of the constitution, the House nominated Muhammed A. Bala, representing Borgu, as the new House leader and the only female in the House,
Binta Mamman, representing Gurara, as the new deputy.

Alhaji Mohammed Haruna, member representing Bida II, moved that the
order read by the Speaker, Abdullahi Bawa Wuse, be suspended and was subsequently seconded by Alhaji Malik Madaki, member representing

Meanwhile, Alhaji Yabagi Akote, member representing Gbako had
nominated Alhaji Abba Bala, as the new Majority leader of the House and seconded by Suleiman Gambo, member representing Paikoro.

Also, Alhaji Bashir Lokogoma had nominated Hajiya Binta Mamman, a
member representing Gurara, as the new deputy majority leader and was seconded by Malik Madaki, member representing Bosso.

News Category: