Imo Assembly drums support for Uzodinma, endorses Supreme Court verdict

.More lawmakers defect to APC

By Valentine Amanze

Imo State House of Assembly Thursday, threw its weight behind the Supreme Court judgment, which ousted Emeka Ihedioha and enthroned Senator Hope Uzodinma as the state governor.
In a statement by the Chief Press Secretary/ Speciall Assistant on Media to governor, Mr. Oguwike Nwachuku, the House passed a vote of confidence in the Supreme Court ruling following a motion raised by Hon. Kennedy Ibe, member representing Obowo State Constituency.

Ibe said that with the Supreme Court ruling of January 14, 2020, all issues on the state governorship election of March 9, 2019, had been settled with Uzodinma as the legitimate governor of the state.

The motion, which had the support of over 20 members, pointed out that the Imo people were happy with the Supreme Court judgment that sacked Ihedioha and called for a stop of protests by elements who do not want the progress of the state.
Ibe also moved that the Resident Electoral Commissioner and the Returning Officer who returned Ihedioha as governor be sanctioned for announcing him winner when they knew that the former Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives did not meet the constitutional requirements.
When the Speaker, Chiji Collins, put the motion to vote, it received support and was passed.
Another highlight of Thursday plenary was the defection of three more members to the All Progressive Congress (APC), namely: Mrs. Uju Onwudiwe (Njaba) who joined from Action Alliance (AA), Paschal Okoli (Orlu) and Samuel Otuibe from (Ahiazu Mbaise) both from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Announcing the defection at the floor of the house, the Speaker, Collins, noted that the defecting members after consulting with their constituents saw the need to join the APC to help Governor Uzodinma, who has shown great desire to develop the state to achieve his good plans for Imo people.
With the latest defection, APC now has overwhelming majority in the Imo House of Assembly with a total of 22 members as against PDP’s five.

News Category: