How APC won Bauchi South Senatorial bye-election

By Rita Michael

The Independent National Electoral Commission has declared the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Lawal Yahaya Gumau, as the winner of the Bauchi South Senatorial Bye-election.
The Returning Officer for Bauchi South Bye-election, Prof Ahmed Sarki Fagam, announced the result at INEC headquarters in Bauchi on Sunday.
He disclosed that Yahaya polled total votes of 119,489 to defeat the candidate of People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Ladan Saliu, who polled a total number of 50,256.

The candidate of Green Party of Nigeria, Isa Yuguda, who is also the immediate past Governor of Bauchi State, scored 33,079.

Also, Maryam Bagel of Social Democratic Party polled 38,000 while New Nigeria’s People’s Party scored 22,896 and All People’s Party polled 11,717.
On the breakdown of the result, Fagam gave the total number registered votes as 877,160 while accredited votes were 271,703 and valid votes were 245,654.
He said a total of 256,763 votes was cast while 11,111 were rejected.
According to him, the candidate of APC, Yahaya Gumau, won in 6 out of 7 local government areas that made up Bauchi South constituency, while PDP candidate, Ladan Saliu, won in 1 LG.

The local Goverments, where APC won are Bauchi, Alkaleri, Tafawa Balewa, Toro and Kirfi, while PDP won in Bogoro Local Government.
He said that elections were cancelled in some local governments.
Reason: “They were cancelled because of over-voting as a result of the fact that the number of registered accredited voters fell short of those that
actually voted. The cancellation was done by all party agents.
“Another reason for the cancellation was that there was mutilation of results.
Others include non-usage of card readers. The electorate decided to
by-pass the machines.”

News Category: