Ihedioha tasks new commissioners

…vows to rebuild Imo, appeals for patience

By Valentine Amanze

Imo State Governor, Chief Emeka Ihedioha, has advised the newly sworn-in commissioners in the state to immediately hit the ground running, shun corruption and partner with him to actualize his campaign promises to the people.
The governor gave the advice during the swearing-in ceremony of the commissioners at the Ahiajoku Convention Centre, Owerri on Wednesday.
He also admonished them to be committed, patriotic and selfless in the discharge of their duties.
The governor however disclosed that he had set up a governance delivery unit, which would set key performance indicators that would periodically measure and guide them.

Ihedioha, who decried the high level of infrastructural decay and evidences of maladministration inherited by his administration, appealed for patience, prayers and support of citizens, stressing that his administration was poised to addressing the misnomers.
His words: "I charge you to key into our programmes as detailed, in not just our campaign manifesto but also our agenda as set by our transition technical committee as well as our pronouncements and actions since assuming office. I thus urge you to hit the ground running.
“You have therefore come on board to enrich the content of the 'rebuilders', as we march to an assured success.”
He further disclosed that his administration was in a hurry to fix the state, while urging them to live up to the expectation.
Responding on behalf of the other commissioners, Prof. Viola Onwuliri (Education), lauded the governor for the choice of his appointments so far, noting, that his administration has shown serious commitment to repositioning the state.
She assured their determination to join the governor in his commitment, zeal and passion to rebuild the state, and promised to offer their individual and collective best.
Other commissioners and their portfolios include; Prof. Uche Uwaleke (Finance), Dr. Vin Udokwu (Health), Hon. Chuma Nnaji (Public Utilities), Mr. Meekam Mgbenwelu (Technology Development), Sir Bon Unachukwu (Lands, Survey and Physical Planning), Tony Okere (Environment) and Engr. Benjamin Ekwueme (Works).
Others are Chief Emma Nworgu (Agriculture and Natural Resources), Mr. John Okeahialam (Commerce, Industry and Entrepreneurship), Mrs. Nkeiru Ibekwe (Gender and Vulnerable Groups Affairs), Mr. Reginald Ihebuzor (Budget and Economic Planning), Mr. Chijioke Nzekwe (Tourism, Creative Arts and Culture), Mr. Sly Enwerem (Transport), Mr. Okey Umez-Eronini (Youth and Social Development), Mr. Nicholas Anayo (Housing) and Mr. Felix Ebiliekwe (Information and Orientation).
Also, inaugurated at the event were; Mr. Chima Nwanna, (Deputy Chief of Staff to the Governor), Hon Oliver Enwerenem, Special Adviser (Technical and Vocational Education) and Dr. Uche Muoneke, Special Adviser (Project Monitoring and Evaluation).

News Category: